Aengus

Aengus is a pretty perfect boy.

 

He is easy going and happy to be close by, whatever you are doing. He loves to lean in for as many pets you are willing to give, otherwise he is happy to just chill out nearby. He has not met a human or friendly dog he has not liked.

 

Aengus is a medium energy dog who loves his walks in the neighbourhood or a good game of keep away in the yard. Add kids to run around with and you have a very happy boy. Aengus prefers to keep his adventures tame and local as he gets car sick quite easily and does not seem to grasp the appeal of a true backwoods hike.

 

Aengus is trained in the basic commands (in French) and is happy to stay in his crate when home alone. His leash skills are generally good, but he does need to be reminded not to pull his person’s arm off to go after a good smell. His other unfortunate hobby is exercising the local squirrels and rabbits, and will chase given the chance. For this reason, he is likely best placed in a home without cats and should not be left unsecured outside.

 

Aengus is generally a really quiet boy. When first in a home he will bark at sounds or movement outside, but with training this can be reduced to the occasional rumble to let you know there is something moving around outside. The exception being the doorbell. Visitors who use it will always get a loud welcome.

 

Aengus suffers from seasonal allergies and gets a regular shot to manage them every 4-6 weeks. Due to his size, his injections are quite pricey and cost around $360 per injection. At this time we are unsure if these allergies are seasonal or year-round and any adopter will need to be willing to work with their veterinarian to ensure Aengus is comfortable and his allergies and skin are under control. He also requires regular ear drops to manage flare ups. Angus also tested positive for lyme exposure but he is not showing any clinical signs and his kidney function is great so this should not be anything that will cause worry. Apply at www.sitwithme.ca/aengus

Details

  • Breed: Bouvier des Flandres Mix
  • Sex: Male
  • Age: 7 yrs. 4 mos. old
  • Size: Large
  • Colour: Grey
  • Spayed/Neutered: Yes
  • Stage: Available

Additional notes

  • Dogs: Yes
  • Cats: Probably not. Maybe an extremely dog savvy cat who won’t run.
  • Kids: Yes
  • Housing Type: Any
  • Yard: Not required as long as he gets regular walks
  • Special Needs: Allergies managed with medication (cost $360 every 4-6 weeks)