Everest

Evie is a beautiful and loving soul that would love to be part of a family. She would be happy with a family, kids 10+ would be ideal, or a single person or couple – and having folks around most of the day would suit her best.  She can be an active go for walks, go hiking, spend-the-day-outdoors kind of dog,  and then she is happy to spend the rest of the day napping.  At 7 years old, she can be flexible!

She absolutely loves to chat up a husky story and if you have experience with a husky you know how they love to chatter, and she has a unique happy dance to go along with it. She’s super cute and endearing!  Of course, she will also chat you up if she is upset with you too!

A fenced in yard where she can have some room to roam, chase away the squirrels and enjoy some off leash time with her person in a safe environment.  On her walks she does sometimes pull (and then sometimes she is amazing) – but you do need to keep an eye out for little critters running by.  She is not at all a candidate for off leash walks or dog parks, so if those are important to you, than please pass on this gal!

Everest does have some anxiety issues, but it seems that those have been greatly reduced and managed since coming into care by having people who are home more often.  This is why we are looking for the same in her forever home.  It took some time, but with a loving, structured and safe environment she has shown that she can give much love and affection in return.  The payback is tenfold!

She is sensitive to grooming but if you display an over abundance of gentle care, she will relax and let you groom her.  She looks totally awesome when she is all groomed out!

Out on her walks, meeting other people or dogs, Evie is a total miss social butterfly and will do her happy dance and jump around like a young pup for a couple of minutes, then she is happy to move on.  People often stop on the street to greet Evie and comment on how beautiful she is, and of course she soaks that up with a wag of her tail and a big doggy smile..

She deserves a loving forever home – and her adoptive family is going to get a loving forever friend in return. To apply online: http://www.sitwithme.ca/dogs/everest

Details

  • Breed: Husky Mix
  • Sex: Female
  • Age: 7 yrs. 9 mos. old
  • Size: Large
  • Colour: Black / White
  • Spayed/Neutered: Yes
  • Stage: Available

Additional notes

  • Dogs: She is not living with dogs in our care but is friendly walking by or for well-matched play dates.  We suspect she may prefer to be an only dog as she loves attention but could be matched to an easy going dog of similar size.  Meet and greet would be required so must be in the Ottawa area.
  • Cats: No, thank you.
  • Kids: 10+ and dog savvy please
  • Housing Type: Detached
  • Fenced-in yard: Required
  • Medical: She does have some dietary issues that are currently being completely managed with a prescription diet and supplement. X-rays show that she may have had a hip fracture or break in the past that has healed - she doesn’t display any favouring or issues from this.  Just something to consider so you maintain joint health!
  • Special Needs: Someone home more often, ie. working from home or working shorter work days.