Hi!  My name is Rookie.   I am a very dapper & distinguished dude as you can see by my regal facial expressions. I am quick to learn & love to please.

I understand my foster people when they say “sit” & “shake a paw” & my recall is pretty good.  I am getting better at walking on lead.  There are just so many things to smell & see! I like long walks in the park, or really any path will do.  I love to run and am really good with my nose.  I can sniff out almost anything, which sometimes has me searching for food when you are not looking!

I appreciate quality dog TV.  I will sometimes bark back at the actors if I hear them bark at me!   I like to play with my favourite canine buddy a lot and play super well with her even though she is a little smaller than me.  I will roll over and give her my belly.  I get super excited when I see her.

I sometimes get nervous when first meeting other dogs but, if they like to play, I’m in!  So I get over that initial insecurity pretty fast.  I’m still getting used to playing with other dogs because I didn’t get to do that much before. I love fun toys & puzzles.  I adore treats and praise!   I even love jumping into water and making a splash.  Cottage time, anyone?

I don’t really like being left alone much and am trying to get better at being calm in my kennel while my people are away.  A person who is home more would be better for me.

I LOVE me some good cuddle time with my people & am really affectionate.   Definitely open to finding some new people to cuddle!  Is that you?

Enough about me.  I want to know about you!  Maybe you have a fun playmate for me at home ?  Can you see me in your life as a bestie forever and ever ? If so, then please apply!


  • Breed: Lab/Shepherd Mix
  • Sex: Male
  • Age: 1 yr. 8 mos. old
  • Size: 31kgs
  • Colour: Brindle
  • Spayed/Neutered: Yes
  • Stage: Available

Additional notes

  • Dogs: Playful and easy going dogs would be amazing but not required.
  • Cats: No, thank you.
  • Kids: Due to my exuberance, 10+ and dog savvy.
  • Housing Type: Country, single
  • Fenced Yard: Required in the city.  Supervised on leash or on lunge line in the country.
  • Special: Someone home more often is needed to start, at least midday breaks will be needed.  This boy is looking for a home in the Ottawa/Gatineau area.  He is not a candidate for dog parks, so if these are important to you, please do not apply.
  • Adoption Fee: $750